Reflections of A Father

22 Dec 2012

20121222-050143.jpg

Melissa’s son, and my buddy, Collin, squatting like a pro.

With 2013 upon us, I reflect on the myriad trials and tribulations my young family and I have been through thus-far. Some we conquered as team Rosa (collectively and individually). Other tests we were blessed to simply walk away from. I am grateful. I am grateful for my Type A wife. I am grateful for my confident daughter. I am grateful for my responsible son. Love is not for the faint of heart. With that, I share my deepest sentiments with you, Parents.

Moms and Dads;

Do what is in your control to keep your children safe. No matter what others may think. It is your child. Not theirs. It is my child. Not yours. As adults, we’ve lived out most of our lives. Make sure the children have the same chance. Prepare to lay down your life if necessary. That they may continue on like our fairy tales promised. Happily. Ever. After.

We, as parents, are a gift to our children. We are their Sword and Shield; a specially tailored, private security detail. Train for the day you fear most. If you are opposed to deadly weapons, train in self-defense tactics. If you are opposed to self-defense tactics, train in less-than-lethal methods. The day of physical danger will come in a form least expected. It may never materialize and simply pass us by. Or we may give the ultimate gift of love by laying down our lives.

Always be vigilant. Always be courteous. And always have a plan. (a paraphrased quote by Maj. Gen. James Mattis, USMC)

WOD: 15-9-3
Hang Power Clean (65/95)
Pull-under

2 responses to “Reflections of A Father

What are your thoughts?

